Diversity and Unity

I have recently ran across a situation in which the example of the intra-personal relationship of the Triune God shed some light and harmony in a rather frustrating situation which I will keep as vague as possible so as not to incriminate myself or any other guilty party for nearsightedness. I think the Holy Trinity, being One God in three persons, set forth a paradigm for the vexing problem of diversity and unity in whatever context you find yourself dealing with this particular dilemma.   I found myself working through the idea of preaching the Gospel to various people in many differing contexts.  For those who are  advocates for contextualizing the gospel usually you will hear someone quote: “To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though not being myself under the law) that I might win those under the law. To those outside the law I became as one outside the law (not being outside the law of God but under the law of Christ) that I might win those outside the law. To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, that by all means I might save some. I do it all for the sake of the gospel, that I may share with them in its blessings.(1Co 9:20-23) In this scenario we see the apostle stretching the perceived boundaries or hindrances and identifying with whomever he is proclaiming the gospel.  Although we might find ourselves among people from differing social, ethnic, economic backgrounds we all have unifying factors that make the preaching of the gospel in whatever context one finds themselves they should be able to do so with confidence.  One overwhelming unifying factor is that we all have been created in the image of God(Gen 1:27).   Next unifying factor is that the God in whose image we bear has revealed himself  in two ways: through His creation and His word, the holy scriptures as contained in the old and new testament.  My leaning is toward unity(knowing that it is a both/and scenario) to the lack of appreciating the diversity.  I think that is the glory of the gospel.  The Triune God who has created us in His image in Whose power is seen throughout creation has, through the person of His Son, revealed Himself fully(col 1:19)and reconciled all who believe that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead(Rom 10:9).   Through the example of the Living Triune God and the power of His gospel one can appreciate the diversity while seeing the unity.

.

About Chi Elmore

My name is Chi Elmore; a husband, father and sinner saved by the abundant grace of Jesus Christ. Studying that I may be found approved by Him who calls us all to repentance and faith in His life, death and Resurrection. View all posts by Chi Elmore

Leave a Reply

