Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward.(Psalm 127:3)

Our family just celebrated the birthday of our now four year old daughter Audrey. We prayed and gave thanks to God for His remarkable gift, knowing that she had been born to the praise of His glory. It is a hard thing to remember that our child is not our own. We are called to be stewards of His child. She has Heavenly Father whom she must learn to know, love and obey and her mother and I are to guide her in the way. At the same time I am reminded of my utter dependence on God as my Heavenly Father.  For Christ said Himself “Truly unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven”(Matt 18:3)  I am totally and utterly dependant on God and His grace to live, breath and have my being.  How important is it for me to submit daily to my Father!  In my duties in leading my children to the cross for grace and mercy, I have in turn been lead to the cross by them!  Acknowledging  my sins,failures and shortcomings as a father.  What a remarkable means of grace children are! 

Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.

(Psalms 127:3-5)

About Chi Elmore

My name is Chi Elmore; a husband, father and sinner saved by the abundant grace of Jesus Christ. Studying that I may be found approved by Him who calls us all to repentance and faith in His life, death and Resurrection. View all posts by Chi Elmore

Leave a Reply

