For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.(2Cor 5:21)

It’s not fair!  Sound familiar? Do you have children?  It should sound very familiar.  The problem is I am not a child.  I am 32.  I still scream the “it’s not fair” anthem all day long.  When my personal laws have been violated and retribution is nowhere in sight, I start with the justification of prompt retaliation no matter what the consequence.  Just then I am gently reminded that life truly is not fair.  God has clearly said that “the wages of sin is death”(Rom 6:23),that “the souls that sin shall die”(Ez 18:4) and that “the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all unrighteousness”(Rom 1:18)   I don’t know about you but I am pretty sure, well almost positive that I have sinned today.  No lightning bolt from heaven.  Haven’t been turned into a pillar of salt.  I am still alive.  Something is not right.  Has God been honest about the detestable nature of sin?  Has He exaggerated to spoof us into following Him?  Absolutely not!  ‘The Lord is not slow to fulfill His promise as some men count slowness, but is patient towards you, not wishing any to perish, but that all should reach repentance.”(2Pe 3:9)  Wait! I deserve death.  I deserve wrath.  But God in His mercy and compassion provides us with atonement!  “for our sakes He made Him to be sin Who knew no sin, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God.”(2Cor 5:21)  It’s not fair!  It’s not fair!

 Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways! “For who has known the mind of the Lord, or who has been his counselor?” “Or who has given a gift to him that he might be repaid?” For from him and through him and to him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.

(Romans 11:33-36)

  

About Chi Elmore

My name is Chi Elmore; a husband, father and sinner saved by the abundant grace of Jesus Christ. Studying that I may be found approved by Him who calls us all to repentance and faith in His life, death and Resurrection. View all posts by Chi Elmore

Leave a Reply

